Australia Fields Formidable Team for Billabong ISA World Surfing Games in Peru

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

World Surfing Games gold medalist in 1998, Campbell will be looking for another World Champion, this time in Peru. Photo: ISA/Watts

World Surfing Games gold medalist in 1998, Campbell will be looking for another World Champion, this time in Peru. Photo: ISA/Watts

Billabong ISA World Surfing Games
Punta Hermosa, Lima, Peru
October 19 to 27

After a Third Place Showing at Last Year’s Event in Costa Rica, the Australians Bring Some Heavy Talent to the 2010 Championship

Australia will be well represented at the 2010 Billabong ISA World Surfing Games when it opens October 18th in Lima, Peru.

With the final team now selected, it seems Australia is positioned to become a serious contender for gold medals, against a quality field of international surfing teams.

The final four surfers selected who will make up the Open Men category include:

2010 ASP World Tour surfer Drew Courtney
2010 ASP World Tour surfer Mick Campbell
2006 ASP World Tour surfer Darren O’Rafferty
2009 Australian Champion Mark Richardson

These Australian surfers will compete alongside Harley Ingleby and Josh Constable (Longboards) and Chelsea Hedges and Rebecca Woods (Open Women), who are also part of the Australian contingent.

Team Australia coach and 1988 ASP Men’s World Champion Barton Lynch, no stranger to the high end of competitive surfing, is eager to get over to Peru to bring back gold for Australia.

“Australia is in good stead going into the World Surfing Games. The longboarding element of the team consists of two of the best Longboard surfers in the world in Harley Ingleby and Josh Constable. The women’s division also has a great balance with former ASP Women’s World Champion Chelsea Hedges, who won this event in 2002, and who will add experience to the team while Rebecca Woods brings her competitive savvy to the squad,” said Lynch.

Mick Campbell’s inclusion in the squad adds incredible experience as Mick is a past Gold Medalist at these 1998 ISA Games, an achievement still treasured by Mick.

‘It’s special surfing under the Aussie flag, and the team we have is amazing and I’m pumped for a huge event” said Campbell.

Team Australia has the support of Surfing Australia and the nation as they surf for gold after placing third overall at the 2009 ISA World Surfing Games.

“Surfing Australia is extremely proud of our stature as the number one surfing nation in the world,” said Surfing Australia Chief Executive Officer Andrew Stark.

The Billabong ISA World Surfing Games will see over 30 countries and over 200 surfers competing in the Open Men, Open Women and Longboard divisions. The date and venue are set; now teams must start getting ready for one of the biggest events of our sport.

For more info:

Jim Kempton
Director of Media
(949) 753-7222 X3363

Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association
Skype: p.a.zanocchi

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).