Australia and France Ready for the 2012 ISA China Cup

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

2009 ISA World Champion, 2010 Pipe Master, current ASP top 16, Jeremy Flores (FRA) will be looking for another Gold in China. Photo: ISA/Watts

ISA 2011 World Surfing Games champion, Australia and Bronze winner, France announce their team for the ISA China Cup

Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival Presented by Quiksilver
January 7 to 14, 2012
Wanning, Hainan Island, China

Two of surfing’s biggest powerhouses, Australia and France, have confirmed the teams that will represent their country at the ISA China Cup.

The first event of the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will take place in Riyue Bay, Hainan Island, China, from January 7 to 10. The Festival will include the two largest and most important surfing competitions in the history of China, and are the first step in the ISA’s long-term plan for developing the sport of surfing in China in cooperation with Beijing Womei Advertising.

The top 8 surfing nations of the world will compete for the Open Men and Women Gold but mainly for the ISA China Cup that the winning country will take home.

The Aussies and French will travel to China with strong teams.

World Tour standouts Dion Atkinson, Heath Joske, Blake Thornton and Nick Muscroft will represent Australia in the Open Men division.

Meanwhile, former ISA Junior Women World Champion, Jessi Miley-Dier along with ISA Open Women copper medalist and ASP Junior World Tour top 5, Dimity Stoyle will compete in the Open Women division.

On the other hand, former ISA Open World Champion and ASP World Tour top 16, Jeremy Flores will lead the French contingent. He will be joined by World Tour standouts like ISA Junior Copper Medalist Marc Larcomare, Romain Cloitre, and Joan Duru.

The French team gains strength on the Women’s side with 2006 ISA World Junior Champion and current ASP World Tour star, Pauline Ado and former European Champion, Justine Dupont.

“This shows us how amazing the surfing level is going to be in the Hainan Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival,” said ISA President, Fernando Aguerre. “ISA Open Gold medallists, ASP World Tour stars and Junior standouts will be competing for the groundbreaking ISA China Cup. It’s the first time ever that we’re going to see the top 8 surfing nations going against each other in one event. We’re all looking forward to it!”

The eight invited National Teams that will compete in the ISA China Cup include: Australia, Brazil, France, Argentina, South Africa, Peru, Venezuela and the USA. Each of them will include their country’s best four men and two women shortboarders, who will compete for Team and Individual Gold Medals.

The event starts on January 7 with the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony to be held in the city of Wanning, Hainan Island, China.

Following the ISA China Cup, the Hainan Classic, a 95,000 USD prize-purse ASP Men’s 4-Star event, will take place from January 11 to 14, and will feature some of the best surfers in the world.

Registration for the Hainan Classic is open now on

ISA China Cup Australian Team in detail
Open Men

Dion Atkinson
Heath Joske
Blake Thornton
Nic Muscroft

Open Women
Dimity Stoyle
Jessi Miley Dier

Team Officials
Martin Dunn
Jeremy Sheppard

ISA China Cup French Team in detail
Open Men

Jeremy Flores
Romain Cloitre
Marc Larcomare
Joan Duru

Open Women
Pauline Ado
Justine Dupont

Team Officials
Patrick Flores
Xavier Delanne
Stephane Corbinien

The event will be webcasted live on

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).