Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

Festivities Kick Off Thursday with Adaptive Surfing Clinic at
La Jolla Shores

USA_TeamUpon registering, host Team USA shows their national pride.

A grand total of 69 athletes from 18 countries are confirmed to compete in the inaugural ISA World Adaptive Surfing Championship Presented by Challenged Athletes Foundation, Hurley, Stance and the City of San Diego, which will officially begin on Thursday, September 24.

The Adaptive Surfing clinic will kick off the festivities at La Jolla Shores, where young adaptive surfers will receive instruction and have an opportunity to display their skills. On Thursday afternoon, the official inauguration of the ISA World Championship will take place with the Opening Ceremony starting at 4:15pm at the Spreckels Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park.

The 18 International Teams that have confirmed their participation are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, France, Great Britain, Hawaii, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United States and Uruguay.

With 69 international athletes, this ISA World Championship will be the biggest international Adaptive Surfing competition of its kind to date.

BRA_Davi_TexeiraAt 10 years of age, Brazil’s Davi Texeira will be the youngest athlete in the competition.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre commented on the gathering of the world’s best international adaptive surfers.

“I’m totally excited and stoked that adaptive surfers from 18 countries around the globe have converged in La Jolla to share their passion for the sport. This is a historic gathering of the adaptive surfing community, which the ISA is very proud to be leading.

“I am looking forward to the Adaptive Surfing clinic Thursday morning, and of course the inauguration of the ISA World Championship at the Opening Ceremony Thursday afternoon in Balboa Park. The ISA is very happy to be hosting all of these athletes and delegations for the growth and development of Adaptive Surfing around the world.”

The schedule for the event will be as follows:

Thursday, Sept. 24 – 8am-1pm: Adaptive Surfing Clinic at La Jolla Shores

Thursday, Sept. 24 – 4:15pm: Opening Ceremony at the Spreckels Organ Pavilion in Balboa Park

Friday, Sept. 25 – 8am-5pm: Live webcast of competition to begin at La Jolla Shores

Saturday, Sept. 26 – 10am-3pm: Adaptive Surfing Symposium featuring keynote speakers about the future development of Adaptive Surfing at the Deni + Jeff Jacobs Challenged Athletes Center.

Sunday, Sept. 27 – 8am-5pm: Live webcast of competition Finals at La Jolla Shores to culminate with the event’s Medal and Closing Ceremony

To see full teams and athletes, visit – http://isaworlds.com/adaptive/en/teams/

Follow all the action on www.ISAworlds.com!

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).