2017 Rick’s Reef Classic X surfing and body-boarding contest results

Posted - News Posted for Guam News, World Surfing News.

RR Claasic X Winners Gallery 2

(Barrigada, Guam –– Sunday, March 26, 2017) The tenth annual surfing and body-boarding competition in the Rick’s Reef Classic competition series concluded successfully Saturday, March 25 with nearly 50 contestants taking to the waves in five categories. This was the second consecutive year that the event took place on the initial actual forecasted date. Past years’ contests had to be held over to contingency dates when surf conditions were not conducive or optimal for quality competitions. The event venue was hosted by Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort. Financial sponsors were Bud Light, SPPC 76 Circle K, Guam Visitors Bureau, First Hawaiian Bank, Atkins Kroll Inc. and Rhino Linings Guam. In-kind prizes donations came from Proa Restaurant, DNA Evolution, Fokai Industries, Primo Surf, Lotus Surf Shop, Da Kine and Trivision Media. Graphic and video promotional production services were provided by Gonzo Ink.

Results are as follows:

Gender-neutral Legends (50 years and older) short board surfing:
1st place – Fred Mendiola
2nd place – Kenny Pier
3rd place – Rob Bucek

Fred Mendiola also received the Atkins Kroll trophy for “Best Ride of the Contest.” This was the first year that such an award was presented at the Rick’s Reef Classic series. According to Gregg Ikehara, the contest head judge and vice president of Guahan Napu, it was a close battle for the best rides between Mendiola and Cheyne Purcell, who competed in the men’s open short board surfing category.
Judges scored Mendiola for his combination of a barrel and three major maneuvers on one wave.

Gender-neutral long board surfing:
1st place – Kenny Pier.
2nd place – Lindsey Wilson
3rd place – Robby Alexander

Women’s short board surfing:
1st place – Aki Siatan. This was the second consecutive year that Siatan won the first place of this category.
2nd place – Lindsey Wilson
3rd place – Austia Mendiola.

Gender-neutral body-board
1st place – Joe Santos
2nd place – John Barber
3rd place – Ken Concepcion

Men’s short board surfing
1st place – Cheyne Purcell
2nd place – Tom Wooley
3rd place – Chad Cruz

For more details about the 2016 Rick’s Reef Classic IX competition, contact Willi Byerly at 483-1376 or by email to gnipresident@teleguam.net