Posted - News Posted for Chile News, ISA News, World Surfing News.

Athletes from 14 Nations Gather to Celebrate the Inauguration of Competition in Iquique’s Historic Plaza Arturo Prat

THE_SAND_AUTHORITIES_JIMENEZThe Mayor of Iquique, Jorge Soria (center), celebrates the sands of the world poured during the Opening Ceremony with representatives from every nation on stage. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

The 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship was officially declared open in Iquique, Chile, marking the start of a week of intense competition to come.

In attendance were 69 athletes from 14 National Teams that travelled from around the world to compete for Gold Medals in the name of their nations. Dignitaries present at the ceremony included Jorge Soria, the Mayor of Iquique, Paula Muñoz, President of the Chilean Surfing Federation and the Iquique City Council, who welcomed the National Delegations to the opening of the competition.

PER_PARADE_PABLO_JIMENEZAll 14 nations parade through the beautiful streets of Iquique en route to the Opening Ceremony. Photo: ISA/Pablo Jimenez

The ceremony began with the Parade of Nations, as each National Team marched down the colonial, picturesque streets of Iquique waving their flags and performing national chants in unison. The parade continued to Plaza Arturo Prat in downtown Iquique where the Chilean Anthem opened the festivities.

As all of the nations were seated in the plaza, the procession proceeded with the Sands of the World Ceremony. Two members from each team took to the main stage pouring sand from their local beach into a glass container while waving their national flag. This ceremony symbolizes the peaceful gathering nations of the world through Bodyboarding.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, was not able to attend the Opening Ceremony, however he sent a video message to the athletes.

“Welcome to the 2015 Iquique Para Todos ISA World Bodyboard Championship. We are very happy to have you all in Iquique for this incredible event to compete in the amazing waves of this city. We wish you all the best of luck and that all that you leave Chile as ambassadors of Iquique.”

Paula Muñoz, the President of the Chilean Surfing Federation followed Aguerre and greeted the crowd on behalf of the Federation.
“I want to wish the Federations that are present today a warm welcome. I want them to feel at home in Iquique.”

Mayor_Flags_SeanEvansA representative from each National Delegation takes to the stage waving their flags. Photo: ISA/Sean Evan

The Mayor of Iquique, Jorge Soria, concluded the dignitary speeches speaking about the fraternal power of sport.

“It’s a luxury to host two ISA World Championships. Last year you all came to Iquique and you have returned this year to be here again with us. It fills us with joy that our competitors made great friendships with you all because after all, being part of a sport family creates unity.”

Rounding out the Opening Ceremony, a local dance group performed a tradition dance, la Diablada, typical of the Tarapacá Region, giving the international competitors a look into the culture and people of Iquique.

CHI_Dance_SeanEvansA local Iquique dance group performs for the international audience at the Opening Ceremony. Photo: ISA/Sean Evans

At 8am on Tuesday, the competition will get underway at la Punta 1 featuring heats of the Open Men, Open Women, Women U-18 Juniors and ISA Aloha Cup Semifinals.

The schedule for the week of competition will be as follows:

  •  Tuesday, December 8- Sunday, December 13 from 8am-3pm – Competition at La Punta
  • Sunday, December 13 – Final day of competition, Awards Presentation and Closing Ceremony

For live action, photos, videos, news and event info, visit: www.ISAworlds.com

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).