2014 South African Team for the ISA 50th Anniversary World Surfing Games in Punta Rocas, Peru, announced by Surfing South Africa.

Posted - News Posted for South Africa News, World Surfing News.

Source : Surfing South Africa

The Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa have confirmed the names of the surfers who will represent South Africa and defend the World Title at the 50th ISA World Surfing Games at Punta Rocas in Peru from October 24th to November 1st, 2014.

Team South Africa, 2013 ISA World Surfing Games winners

The surfers who were members of the South African Team that won the 2013 ISA World Surfing Games in Santa Catalina, Panama last year have been rewarded for this achievement and will travel to Peru to defend their title . Unfortunately, 2013 Gold medal winner and team captain, Shaun Joubert of Mossel Bay, is unable to join his team mates due to academic commitments and his place will be taken by 2012 and 2013 South African Champion, Casey Grant (Scottburgh, KZN).Grant was a member of the South African Team that competed in the 2010 World Surfing Games in Peru.

rsa_mikey_february2_TweddleMikey February

The six members of the 2014 South African team are Grant, David Van Zyl (Glenashley, KZN), Michael February (Kommetjie, Western Cape),David Brand (Kommetjie, Western Cape), Tanika Hoffman (Hout Bay, Western Cape) and Faye Zoetmulder (Cape St Francis, Eastern Cape).

RSA_Tanika Hoffman_Rommel_GonzalesTanika Hoffman

Etienne Venter (Jeffrey’s Bay, Eastern Cape), who was the coach of the 2013 team has been reappointed as coach of the 2014 team and Surfing South Africa Vice President, Johnny Bakker (Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape) has been appointed as Team Manager.

RSA_DAvid_Van_Zyl_Rommel_GonzalesDavid Van Zyl

The 50th ISA World Surfing Games is expected to attract over 30 nations to the perfect right point break of Punta Rocas near Lima on the Peruvian coast. Peru is a fitting host of the 50th Anniversary of the ISA World Surfing Games as the country is regarded as the birthplace of surfing. In addition, Punta Rocha has happy memories for South African surfing as it was at this venue in 2009 that the South African Masters Team won their second World title.

image013Casey Grant

The 2014 ISA World Surfing Games will determine the ISA World Team champions as well as the Men’s and Women’s individual championship titles. The top eight teams will also contest the Aloha Cup and will be fighting for international team rankings. As current World Champions South Africa is the top seeded nation at the event.

rsa_davey_brand1_TweddleDavey Brand

Surfing South Africa is the recognized governing body for the sport and is a member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) and the International Surfing Association (ISA). All South African surfing teams that participate in international events are chosen by the National Selectors and in terms of the SSA Constitution all national teams are ratified by the Board of Directors of Surfing South Africa

RSA_Faye_ Zoetmulde_Rommel_GonzalesFaye Zoetmulder