The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship Is Officially Open

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

13 National Teams Paraded Through Iquique’s Historic Central Square, “Plaza Arturo Prat” In Front Of Hundreds Of Locals

The President of the Chilean Surfing Federation, Juan Agustin Echeverria (far left), amongst the flags of the 13 National Teams, declared the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship officially open. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The Mayor of Iquique, Jorge Soria along with ISA Officials and the 13 National Delegations paraded down Iquique’s iconic “Baquedano” street and into the “Plaza Arturo Prat” square in the center of the city, in front of hundreds of local spectators. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship was declared officially open Saturday, December 6, 2014, in Iquique’s beautiful and historic central square, “Plaza Arturo Prat.”

In attendance were the 13 National Delegations featuring the world’s best bodyboarders and team officials, who traveled to Chile from every corner of the globe. Hundreds of enthusiastic Chileans, local government authorities, and ISA officials witnessed the start of this historic competition; marking the first time ever an ISA World Championship is hosted in the country.

After arriving to the Opening Ceremony stage, the 13 National Delegations participated in the ISA’s unique Sands Of The World Ceremony. Two representatives of each National Delegation walked on stage, one waving the national flag while the other poured sand from their local beach into a glass container, symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

Team Chile pouring their local sand during the Sands Of The World Ceremony. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, who was unable to be present, as he is in Monaco, for the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Session working on behalf of Surfing’s inclusion in the Olympic Games, recorded the following message:

“On behalf of the 91 Member Nations of the International Surfing Association, I welcome all the participating Bodyboarding National Teams from all over the world. I wish you the best and that you have an excellent and unforgettable week, in this beautiful city of Iquique.

“All of you have come from all over the world to compete in these great bodyboarding waves. Only a few of you will go back home with the Gold Medals, but all of you are champions for being at this historic World Championship in Chile participating as members of your National Team, and represent the sport of Bodyboarding.”

“I would like to thank all of the local authorities, the people of Chile and the public and private sectors for making this first ISA World Championship in Chile possible.”

Jorge Soria, Mayor of Iquique commented:
“I want to thank all the leaders of Bodyboarding in Iquique and all the political leaders who gave their support. We welcome the athletes to our city that offers its waves the world. May the best win!”

The Mayor of Iquique, Jorge Soria. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

Mitchel Cartes, Intendant of the Tarapacá Region commented:
For us, it’s an honor to be part of an activity like this where we can show the richness of the Tarapacá Region and the Community of Iquique. I want to offer all of the local organizers and athletes a fraternal greeting.”

The Intendant of the Tarapacá Region, Mitchel Cartes. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

To conclude the ceremony, the President of the Chilean Surfing Federation, Juan Agustin Echeverria officially declared open the 2014 ISA World Bodyboard Championship as the flag bearers from the 12 National Delegations waved their country’s flag.

Competition starts on Sunday with the first call at 9:00am (local time) for a potential 9:30am start to run the first round of the competition.

Competition Schedule:
12 Heats – Main Event Open Men Round 1

The live webcast of the entire championship is available on

About The International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men's and Women's World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 106 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes' Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).

For more information, please visit