2013 New Zealand Junior Surfing Team Announced

Posted - News Posted for New Zealand News, World Surfing News.

Written by Ben Kennings
Tuesday, 19 March 2013
 Elliot Paerata – Reid – Image Cory / NZ Surf Mag



Surfing New Zealand has today (Tuesday 19th March 2013) announced a team of twelve surfers to represent New Zealand at the 2013 ISA World Surfing Championship which takes place in Nicaragua from 8 – 16 June 2013.

The team includes surfers under the age of 18 with eight boys and four girls named in the team.  The team is led by National Champions Elliot Paerata – Reid (Piha), Korbin Hutchings (Gis), Jasmine Smith (Gis) and Dayna Story (Gis).

“The team named today has a lot of surfing ability” commented National Selector Lee Ryan.

“These surfers have shown they can step up at key times during events.  They have shown both myself and team management that they are prepared to work hard in terms of individual performance and as a team.  We are confident that they will achieve good results at the event and improve on their 2012 performances” added Ryan.

The team shows a lot of strength across the board with eight of the twelve surfers having previously competed at the event.  Elliot Paerata – Reid is the most experienced of the team having competed at the past three events in the Under 16 Boys Division with a best placing of 17th in 2012 when the event was held in Panama.

For the girls Ella Williams (WGM) has competed at the event for the past two years and was the top performer in 2012 placing ninth overall in the Under 18 Girls Division.

New to the team in 2013 is Sean Kettle (Tara) competing in the Under 18 Boys Division, Kehu Butler (Mnt) and Daniel Farr (Tara) in the Under 16 Boys Division.  New faces for the girls are Abby Falwasser – Logan (Gis) in the Under 18 Girls and Dayna Story (Gis) in the Under 16 Girls.

The New Zealand team finished tenth in 2012 with the event playing host to 31 countries from around the world.

The Rip Curl New Zealand Junior Surfing Team is as follows:

Under 18 Boys
Dune Kennings (Whangamata)
Elliot Paerata – Reid (Piha)
Mackenzie Christie (Mount Maunganui)
Sean Kettle (Taranaki)
Non travelling reserve – Jordan Griffin (Mount Maunganui)

Under 18 Women
Abby Falwasser – Logan (Gisborne)
Ella Williams (Whangamata)
Non travelling reserve – Claudia Fraser (Piha)

Under 16 Boys
Daniel Farr (Taranaki)
Harrison Whiteside (Christchurch)
Kehu Butler (Mount Maunganui)
Korbin Hutchings (Gisborne)
Non travelling reserve – Manu Scott-Arrieta (Sandy Bay)

Under 16 Girls
Dayna Story (Gisborne)
Jasmine Smith (Gisborne)
Non travelling reserve – Claudia Fraser (Piha)

Team Manager: Tony Baker (Mangawhai)
Team Coach: Jason Ruddell (Whangarei)
Team Assistant Manager/Coach: Warren Asplin (Hamilton)

The World Junior Surfing Championships is an annual event having been held since 2003.  New Zealand has competed at the event since its inception as well as competing at the World Grommet Titles as it was formerly known since 1989.  New Zealand has been one of the top nations at each event with Jay Quinn (Gis) securing New Zealand’s first World Championship in the Under 18 Men’s division in 2001.  In 2012 the New Zealand team placed tenth at the event when it was held in Panama.

Prior to the main event the team will meet South Africa to contest the annually run ‘SANZ’ Trophy held between the two teams.  South Africa currently holds the trophy after winning it in tight battle in Panama.  The two teams will fine tune their competitive strategies only days out from the main event.  The unique trophy that is up for grabs is made out of a solid pounamu base with paua inlay and a surfboard made out of South African hardwood.