2012 ISA Individual Scholarship Recipients Announced

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

The 27 ISA Scholarship Recipients are under-18 surfers and students from 19 countries on five continents, and they are role models for their communities, who can now be called ‘ISA Ambassadors’.

Twenty-seven under-18 surfers receive US$ 1,000 scholarships

La Jolla, California
September 6, 2012

The International Surfing Association is proud to announce the 2012 ISA Individual Scholarship Program winners. Twenty-seven worthy surfers from 19 countries have been awarded with US$ 1,000 scholarships that will be used for schooling and to help advance their surfing careers during the next twelve months.

Since its inception in 2007, the ISA has delivered 142 Scholarships valued at US$ 128,500. This remarkable effort has contributed greatly to improving the lives of needy junior surfers around the world.

The ISA Scholarship Program has consistently grown since it first started due to the generous funding from The Quiksilver Foundation, Billabong, Reef Redemption and the newest program grant donor – Greenpacha sold at Varoj.org, and the continued support from ISA member nations.

ISA President Fernando Aguerre said about this year’s Scholarship Program recipients: “After six years of delivering scholarships and seeing this program do so much good for so many good young surfers around the world, we are definitely very happy. I believe our tribe is capable of giving more. This program does a lot for many deserving people, so we are going to work even harder to make it grow. This way, great students and surfers, all inspirational to their peers, will get the chance to fulfill their dreams.”

After careful review by the Scholarship Selection Committee, the ISA announced the following surfers as 2012 ISA Scholarship Recipients:

Liam Taylor, Australia
Caelum Blandford, Barbados
Danilo Cerda, Chile
Javiera Veliz, Chile
Esteban Fernandez Matamoros, Costa Rica
Jyothi M. Bangera, India
Samuel Marabici, Italy
Javan Brown, Jamaica
Nick Robinson, Jamaica
Paswayne Douglas, Jamaica
Armani Green, Jamaica
Carlos Dominguez Cervantes, Mexico
Philip Seidler, Namibia
Dayna Story, New Zealand
Waretini Wano, New Zealand
Luis Angel Arroyo, Panama
Monica Munn, Panama
Estephani Tello, Peru
Nikita Avdeev, Russia
Simo Mkhize, South Africa
Brandon Benjamin, South Africa
Colby Stanley, Spain
Melodie Bohny Traynor, Spain
Elton John, Trinidad & Tobago
Jyiell Lewis, Trinidad & Tobago
Francisco Morosini, Uruguay
Elenna Erkeneff, USA

These ISA Scholarship Recipients are inspirational individuals, who strive to succeed in both surfing and education. Now that they been awarded the scholarships, they are worthy to be called “ISA Ambassadors.” They personify what the ISA promotes – working hard in school, enjoying surfing and achieving big goals.

About the program
The ISA to proud to award academic surf scholarships to U18 junior surfers. The Individual Scholarship Program’s main objective is to provide financial support to junior surfers who demonstrate an actual need, in order to facilitate an experience in surfing while encouraging the importance of education.

The money must be used to travel to surf contests, and/or upgrade their surfing equipment and to foster the junior surfer’s education.

More here

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).