2011 ISA Individual Scholarship Recipients Announced

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

L to R: Mario Vega (GUA), Francisco Morosini (URU) and Franwill Vento (VEN) happy scholarship winners with ISA President Fernando Aguerre. Photo: ISA

Twenty-five worthy surfers receive USD 1,000 scholarships

Punta Hermosa, Peru
May 25, 2011

The International Surfing Association announced the recipients of the 2011 ISA Individual Scholarship Program during the Opening Ceremony of the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Peru.

The ISA Scholarship Program has consistently grown since it first started in 2007 due to the generous funding from The Quiksilver Foundation, Billabong and Reef Redemption, and the continued support from ISA member nations.

For 2011 the ISA will be issuing 25 USD 1,000 scholarships to Under 18 junior surfers from 19 different countries.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said about this year’s Scholarship Program: “I believe the ISA Scholarship Program is a enormous step forward for the ISA to contribute to improve the lives of junior surfers around the world. Together, we are sustaining the dreams and hopes of good students who are also great surfers.”

After careful review by the Scholarship Selection Committee, the ISA announced the following surfers as ISA Surfing Ambassadors. The scholarship recipients are inspirational human beings, great surfers and avid students who want to succeed in surfing and school.

1 – Argentina, Tobías Ortells
2 – Australia, Jack Murray
3 – Australia, Kelly Norris
4 – Barbados, Chelsea Roett
5 – Ecuador, Irons Burgos
6 – Fiji, William Dansey
7 – France, Louis Baltazar Fears
8 – Great Britain, Jaide Lowe
9 – Guatemala, Mario Vega
10 – Japan, Gai Sato
11 – Japan, Minato Takahashi
12 – Netherlands, Jelle de Roode
13 – Nicaragua, Aarón Ernesto Gómez Selva
14 – Nicaragua, Milton Bladimir Aguilar Quintanilla
15 – Peru, Juninho Urcia
16 – Peru, Jorge Luis Rodríguez
17 – Slovenia, Niki Luksic Druskovic
18 – South Africa, Brandon Benjamin
19 – South Africa, Marchall Reans
20 – Spain, Nahir Aylen Manduca
21 – Thailand, Panu Wisetsombat
22 – USA, Mary-Townsend Bourque
23 – USA, Maddie Swayne
24 – Uruguay, Francisco Morosini
25 – Venezuela, Franwil Vento

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).