2010 ISA Individual Scholarship Recipients Announced

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Piha Beach, New Zealand
January 27, 2010

The International Surfing Association announced the recipients of the 2010 ISA Individual Scholarship Program during the Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in New Zealand.

The ISA Scholarship Program has consistently grown since it first started in 2007 due to the generous funding from Billabong, The Quiksilver Foundation and Reef Redemption, and the continued support from ISA member nations.

For 2010 the ISA will be issuing 25 scholarships to Under 18 junior surfers from 20 different countries. The ISA received 77 applications from 29 countries for this year’s program.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said about this year’s Scholarship Program: “I believe the ISA Scholarship Program is a huge step forward for the ISA to contribute to bettering the lives of junior surfers around the world. Together, we are supporting the dreams and hopes of good students who are also good surfers.”

After careful review by the Scholarship Selection Committee, the ISA announced the following surfers as ISA Surfing Ambassadors. The recipients are inspirational human beings, great surfers and avid students who want to succeed in surfing and school.

The 2010 ISA Scholarship Recipients are:
Ana Martina Gainza – Argentina
Armani Green – Jamaica
Belko Contreras – Chile
Benjamin de Castro – Angola
Carlos Cervantes – Mexico
Cesar Reyes – Ecuador
Colby Stanley – Spain
Donghoon Kim – South Korea
Hussain Rasheed – Maldives
Ian Ross Schweden – Trinidad and Tobago
Jarred Veldhuis – South Africa
Jean Carlos Gonzales – Panama
Jean Carlos Mendez – Costa Rica
Juninho Urcia – Peru
Mahorahora McLeod – New Zealand
Mamadou Mbengue – Senegal
Marissa Shaw – United States
Miluska Tello – Peru
Naomi Kabayashi – Japan
Nicolas Bulla – Venezuela
Papi Makanyane – South Africa
Roger Vuuanza – Angola
Ronald Hastings – Jamaica
Tassy Swallow – Great Britain
Tobias Ortells – Argentina

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).