10X World Champion, Jamie Mitchell Confirmed for the first ISA World Standup Paddle and Paddleboard Championship

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

10X Molokai-to-Oahu Paddleboard Champion Jamie Mitchell (AUS) will be honoring the first ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship to be held in Peru this February. Photo: Quiksilver

Australia sets up strong team for the maiden edition of the event

ISA World Standup Paddle and Paddleboard Championship
Waikiki Club, Miraflores, Peru
February 20 to 25, 2012

Ten-time Oahu to Molokai Paddleboard Champion, Jamie Mitchell will lead a powerhouse TravelSIM Team Australia to next February’s inaugural International Surfing Association World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship in Peru.

The event will be held in front of the legendary Waikiki Club in Miraflores, Lima from February 20 to 25 and will feature more than 20 countries and more than 150 athletes competing in SUP surfing, SUP racing and Prone Paddleboard racing divisions.

Powerhouse surfing nation, Australia, boasts an imposing line-up.

Mitchell, who has also won the prestigious Battle of the Paddle, will be joined by OC champion and fellow Battle of the Paddle winner Travis Grant, former Molokai champion and current Australian SUP surfing champion Shakira Westdorp and defending Molokai champion Jordan Mercer. Also on the team are current Australian SUP surfing men’s champion Justin Holland and current Australian Longboard champion Jackson Close, who finished second to Holland at the national SUP titles.

“The inclusion of legend Jamie Mitchell, is very welcome by the ISA. His participation confirms the positive influence of organizing the inaugural ISA SUP and Paddleboard.” said ISA President, Fernando Aguerre. “SUP and Paddleboarding are two growing disciplines all over the world and they need to have their official World Championship. Peruvian waves and waters at the Waikiki Club are ideal locations to make this event a great success and lay the foundations fornthis event for years to come.”

Divisions include SUP Surfing, a 4.5 kilometers SUP technical race, 18 kilometers SUP marathon, and a 5.75 kilometers Prone Paddleboard race. The SUP technical race will follow the popular Battle of the Paddle format, which involves several laps of a course paddling in and back out through the surf.

Mitchell said being part of a team provided an exciting new element to the sport. “I’m really looking forward to it as while what we do is still a very individual activity, now it is just not about individual results, we’re also racing for our team and country,” Mitchell said. “I’ll be ramming home to the team that while individual results are great, our goal is to come back as the winning team. I’d much rather get a bunch of seconds and win the title than a couple of wins but still lose the team title. Hawaii and the United States will have separate teams and both will be strong, but we have a solid team as well and on paper it’s certainly a team that can win.”

TravelSIM Team Australia
Men’s 8km paddleboard
Joel Mason (Macksville, NSW); Brad Gaul (Sydney, NSW)

Women’s 8km paddleboard
Jordan Mercer (Sunshine Coast, Qld)

Men’s 2-5km Technical SUP Race (Battle of the Paddle format, 12’6 and under boards)
Jamie Mitchell (Currumbin, Qld), Travis Grant (Palm Beach, Qld)

Men’s 20km SUP Marathon (12’6 boards and under)
Jamie Mitchell (Currumbin, Qld), Travis Grant (Palm Beach, Qld)

Women’s 2-5km Technical SUP Race (Battle of the Paddle format, 12’6 and under boards)

Women’s 20km SUP Marathon (12’6 boards and under)
Angie Jackson (Palm Beach, Qld)

Men’s SUP Surfing
Justin Holland (Gold Coast, Qld), Jackson Close (Coolangatta, Qld)

Women’s SUP Surfing
Shakira Westdorp (Casuarina, NSW)

The event will be webcasted live in a URL soon to be announced. Stay logged to www.isasurf.org

Press release compiled by Tim Briblecombe and Pablo Zanocchi

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).