10 Things You Need to Know about the 2016 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship

Posted - News Posted for ISA News, Portugal News, World Surfing News.

2016 Edition Poised to Set Records for the Event

The 2016 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is set to take place from September 17-25 in the Azores Islands of Portugal, gathering the most talented junior surfers from all around the globe. The 2016 edition is poised to make history as it will be the first in the era of Olympic Surfing and could potentially break the record for the largest individual and country participation in the event’s 37-year history.

Here are the 10 things you need to know about the upcoming competition:

1. The Olympics

With the International Olympic Committee’s recent vote at the 129th IOC Session in Rio de Janeiro to include Surfing in the Sports Program of the Tokyo 2020 Games, the 2016 edition of the VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship will be the first in the era of Olympic Surfing. The world will get a glimpse in the Azores of the sport’s current and future talents that will compete to represent their nations when Surfing makes its Olympic debut in 2020.

_U0O7050Sitting more than 1,500 kilometers off the coast of Portugal in the North Atlantic Ocean, the Azores Islands are ideally located to pick up multiple swell directions and produce world-class surf. Photo: Miguel Rezendes

2. Record Participation

After a record breaking year in 2015, where 322 surfers from 36 countries graced the shores of Oceanside, California, U.S.A. for an epic week of competition, this year’s event could set a new record for participation in the event’s 37-year history. Nearly 40 nations and more than 330 surfers have registered to compete and vie for the coveted individual and Team Gold Medals.

3. Watch the Event Live Online

The world championship will be streamed live on www.isaworlds.com from September 17-25. Visit the official event website for results, photos, videos and news pertaining to the competition.

4. VISSLA – The Title Sponsor

This year’s competition marks the third consecutive year that VISSLA has supported the championship as the title sponsor, bringing their youthful, unique energy to the world’s largest junior surfing competition.

VISSLA is a clothing brand that represents creative freedom, a forward-thinking philosophy, and a generation of creators and innovators. VISSLA embraces the modern do-it-yourself attitude within surf culture, performance surfing, and craftsmanship. This is a surf-everything and ride-anything mentality.

Azores Tourism also has strongly contributed by opening the doors of their island of São Miguel to the ISA and competing National Surfing Delegations.

The Portuguese Surfing Federation, the National Governing Body recognized by the ISA in Portugal, has partnered with the ISA in the hosting this historic ISA World Championship.

5. The Champions

The Champions from the previous three editions of the ISA World Surfing Games are as follows:

Team Gold Medalists
2015 – USA
2014 – Hawaii
2013 – Australia

Boy’s U-18 Gold Medalists
2015 – Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
2014 – Luan Wood (BRA)
2013 – Josh Moniz (HAW)

Girl’s U-18 Gold Medalists
2015 – Tessa Thyssen (FRA)
2014 – Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)
2013 – Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW)

Boys U-16 Gold Medalists
2015 – Stevie Pittman (USA)
2014 – Leo-Paul Etienne (FRA)
2013 – Jacob Wilcox (AUS)

Girls U-16 Gold Medalists
2015 – Summer Macedo (HAW)
2014 – Mahina Maeda (HAW)
2013 – Mahina Maeda (HAW)

ITA_Leonardo_Fioravanti_05_ISA_Chris_Grant (1)Leonardo Fioravanti completes a perfect 10-point aerial to cement his title as the Boys-U-18 Gold Medalist at the 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in Oceanside, California. Photo: ISA / Chris Grant

6. The Venue

The event will take place between two podiums at Praia do Monte Verde, located on the north side of the São Miguel Island. Praia de Monte Verde is a powerful, sand bottom beach break that is well exposed to pick up swells originating from the North Atlantic.

7. The History

The ISA hosted its first World Junior Surfing Championship in 1980 in Biarritz, France, where legendary surfer Tom Curren became the first ISA World Junior Champion, helping to launch his successful career.

Past ISA World Junior Champions include the 2014 WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA, 2010), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW, 2014, 2013), Filipe Toledo (BRA, 2011), Tyler Wright (AUS, 2010, 2009), Alejo Muniz (BRA, 2008), Laura Enever (AUS, 2008), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS, 2007), Julian Wilson (AUS, 2006), Owen Wright (AUS, 2006), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS, 2005, 2004), Matt Wilkinson (AUS, 2004) and Jordy Smith (RSA, 2003).

BRA-Filipe-Toledo5_RommelFelipe Toledo, one of many WSL stars to come through the ISA junior ranks, is crowned the 2011 ISA World Junior Champion in Punta Hermosa, Peru. Photo: ISA / Rommel Gonzales

8. Social Media

The ISA will be posting live updates, photos and videos from the competition on social media. Follow along on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat and don’t forget use the official hashtags #ISAworlds and #VISSLAISAworldjuniors.

Facebook: International Surfing Association
Instagram: @ISAsurfing
Snapchat: @ISA_Surfing
Twitter: @ISAsurfing

9. The Schedule

September 17: Opening Ceremony at 10:30am local time (GMT -1 hr) featuring the Parade of Nations and Sands of the World Ceremony in Ribeira Grande, São Miguel
September 18-25: Competition at Praia do Monte Verde, São Miguel
September 25: Final day of competition, Awards Presentation and Closing Ceremony

10. The Mission

Recognized by the IOC as the world governing body for Surfing, the ISA’s mission is to create a better world through Surfing. This is accomplished through annual World Championships for surfers representing their countries, membership development, educational programs, scholarship distribution and preparing Surfing’s participation in the Olympic Games.

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).