Posted - News Posted for ISA News, World Surfing News.

From October 11-18, Oceanside, California will Host the Largest Gathering of the World’s Best Junior Surfers 

oside-pier-1200-barrel-chris-grant-photoAs a beach break, Oceanside offers a variety of waves including barrels. Photo: Chris Grant/JettyGirl

Gathering more than 320 surfers from 37 countries, this ISA World Championship will feature the best junior surfers in the world and will determine the rising stars in the sport of Surfing.

Here are the 10 things you need to know about the 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship:

1. The ISA World Championship

The 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is the biggest junior surfing competition in the world for under-18 surfers, with the 2015 edition shaping up to be the largest ISA World Junior Surfing Championship to date.

2. Record Participation

With 37 competing countries and more than 320 athletes, this year’s competition will feature the most surfers in an ISA World Junior Surfing Championship and the most countries represented in any ISA World Championship to date.

3. The Support

This year’s competition marks the second year in a row that VISSLA will sponsor the event.

VISSLA is a clothing brand that represents creative freedom, a forward-thinking philosophy, and a generation of creators and innovators. VISSLA embraces the modern do-it-yourself attitude within surf culture, performance surfing, and craftsmanship. This is a surf-everything and ride-anything mentality.

The City of Oceanside also has contributed by opening the doors of their beautiful town to the ISA, the visiting athletes and team officials.

Surfing America, the ISA Member Nation in the USA, has partnered in the hosting this historic ISA World Championship.

4. The Competition

The best junior surfers from every continent will gather to compete for their National Teams in an “Olympic-style” event. The surfers compete for medals and the honor of representing their respective countries.

The VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is a team competition with individual Boys and Girls divisions. Each National Team includes 4 under-18 Boys, 2 under-18 Girls, 4 under-16 Boys, and 2 under-16 Girls, for a total of 12 athletes.

The level of competition in the 2015 edition will be at an all-time high as U-16 2014 Gold Medalists, Mahina Maeda (HAW) and Leo-Paul Etienne (FRA), will return to defend their titles. Other top junior talents such as Tia Blanco (USA), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA), Kim Veteau (FRA) and Seth Moniz (HAW) will arrive in Oceanside to compete for Gold.

ITA_Leonardo_Fioravanti4_ISA_Rommel_Gonzales_smallSilver Medalist at the 2013 ISA World Junior Surfing Championship, Leonardo Fioravanti, will represent Italy and look for his first ISA Gold Medal. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

5. The History

The ISA hosted its first World Junior Surfing Championship in 1980 in Biarritz, France, where legendary surfer Tom Curren became the first ISA World Junior Champion, which helped launch his successful career.

Past ISA World Junior Champions include current WSL Champion Gabriel Medina (BRA, 2010), Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW, 2014, 2013), Filipe Toledo (BRA, 2011), Tyler Wright (AUS, 2010, 2009), Alejo Muniz (BRA, 2008), Laura Enever (AUS, 2008), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS, 2007), Julian Wilson (AUS, 2006), Owen Wright (AUS, 2006), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS, 2005, 2004), Matt Wilkinson (AUS, 2004) and Jordy Smith (RSA, 2003).

6. The Olympic Movement

On September 28th, 2015, Tokyo 2020 recommended Surfing to the International Olympic Committee as one of five sports for inclusion in the Olympic Games, highlighting the sport’s energetic, youthful values. The competitors in the 2015 VISSLA ISA Word Junior Surfing Championship could potentially be the first generation of Olympic surfers in 2020.

7. The Prize

The world’s best junior surfers will compete for individual medals and the coveted ISA World Junior Team Champion Trophy. Gold, Silver, Bronze and Copper Medals will be awarded to the top four placing athletes respectively in each division.

8. The Venue

The event will be held at two locations: the north side and south side of the Oceanside Pier. Oceanside Pier is a sand-bottom beach break, well exposed to pick up swells from southern and northern directions.

The Opening and Closing Ceremonies will be held at the Junior Seau Oceanside Pier Amphitheatre.

oside-lineup-1200-chris-grant-photoSunny, clean conditions are typical for fall in Oceanside, California. Photo: Chris Grant/JettyGirl

9. The Mission

The ISA’s mission is to develop the sport of surfing around the world. This is accomplished through annual World Championships, membership development, educational programs, scholarship distribution and working towards Olympic Surfing.

10. The Schedule

The 2015 VISSLA ISA World Junior Surfing Championship will take place from October 11-18. The schedule is as follows:

  • Sunday, October 11 at 10am – Opening Ceremony featuring the Parade of Nations and Sands of the World at the Junior Seau Oceanside Pier Amphitheatre
  • October 12-18 from 7am-5pm – Competition taking place at Oceanside Pier
  • Sunday, October 18 – Closing Ceremony at the Junior Seau Oceanside Pier Amphitheatre

For live action, photos, videos, news and event info, visit: www.ISAworlds.com


About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012; and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 108 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member.

Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California (USA).