Mission Statement


The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Surfing and Racing, and all other wave riding activities.

The ISA has been crowning World Champions since 1964. The ISA World Championship Series includes:

  • The ISA World Junior Surfing Championship
  • The ISA World Surfing Games
  • The ISA World Masters Surfing Championship
  • The ISA World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship
  • The ISA World Longboard Championship.
  • The ISA World Bodyboard Championship

The ISA also owns and produces the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival, which includes:

  • The ISA China Cup
  • Hainan Classic, Men’s 4-Star ASP

Along with its World Championship Series, the ISA works to develop global surfing by providing educational programs in the areas of Judging & Officiating, Coaching & Instructing, Surf School Accreditation, Adapted Surfing, and also provides an ISA Individual Scholarship Program for Junior (under-18) surfers.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 93 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected eight times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Layne Beachley (AUS), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).

All of the above contribute to the ISA’s ultimate mission, which is to develop surfing globally.