HAINAN WANNING RIYUE BAY INTERNATIONAL SURFING FESTIVAL BEGINS ON SUNDAY

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Panama, Peru and South Africa Are Set To Compete In The Third Annual ISA China Cup

The ISA’s 2014 Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will kick-off on Sunday, November 23th. During the first two days of competition, the ISA China Cup will feature the top 7 surfing countries plus the local Chinese team, who will be competing for the first time in ISA history.

With one day before the start of the ISA China Cup, Brazil's Deivid Silva warmed up at Riyue Bay's perfect lefts. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

With one day before the start of the ISA China Cup, Brazil’s Deivid Silva warmed up at Riyue Bay’s perfect lefts. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The eight countries competing for the Team Champion trophy are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Panama, Peru and South Africa. Further down is a list of all of the registered athletes who will be representing their nation and will compete for the individual Men’s and Women’s Gold Medals.

Following the ISA China Cup, from November 25-28, will be the Hainan Classic, Men’s 4-star ASP Qualifying Series event, where the best professional surfers from around the world will compete for a total prize purse of $95,000 USD and valuable points that count towards the ASP Men’s Qualifying Series Ranking.

Australia's Codie Klein found getting a nice cover up in China. Photo: ISA/Rommel GonzalesAustralia’s Codie Klein found getting a nice cover up in China. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

“The Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will start tomorrow,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “All eight National Teams have arrived and settled in at the Official Hotel in the beautiful city of Wanning. This will be a historic moment for the country of China as they will be fielding the first ever Chinese team to compete at an ISA competition.”

Aguerre continued, “With the ISA China Cup beginning on Sunday, all the athletes are excited and ready to compete for the Individual and Team Gold Medals. As I like to remind all of the surfers , some of you will go home with medals and others will not, but all of you are champions for competing for your National Teams at the ISA China Cup.”

Australia's Kai Hing going vertical in China. Team Australia will be looking to defend their 2012 and 2013 Team Championship. Photo: ISA/Rommel GonzalesAustralia’s Kai Hing going vertical in China. Team Australia will be looking to defend their 2012 and 2013 Team Championship. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival will be available to view on the live webcast at www.hainaninternationalsurfingfestival.com

List of National Teams and Athletes:

Argentina

Men:
Mariano Arreyes
Francisco Usuna
Joaquin Quimey Juarez
Nahuel Pablo Amalfitano

Women:
Lucia Indurain
Lucia Cosoleto

Official:
Juan Marcos Baldino

Australia

Men:
Kai Hing
Luke Hynd
Nic Squiers
Tim Mcdonald

Women:
Codie Klein
Jessica Grimwood

Official:
Clancy Dawson

Brazil

Men:
Deivid da Silva
Renato Glavao Princerni
Elivelton Santos Da Silva
Luan Wood

Women:
Camila Santos-Oliveira
Luana Coutinho-dos-Santos

Official:
Bruno Galini Ramos

Costa Rica

Men:
Luis Javier Vindas
Jair Perez Quiros
Maykol Torres
Gilbert Brown

Women:
Lisbeth Vindas
Leilani McGonagle

Official:
Sean McGonagle

China

Men:
Tie “TZ” Zhuang
Liang Zang
Pablo Huang
Jingsen Xu

Women:
Jiarui Yang
Xue Yang

Officials:
Peter Townend
Qing Liu
Zhongyi Li
Xupin Bao
Glenn Brumage
Xaingjun Meng
Bing Liang
Xiangwei Yang
Nik Zanella

Panama

Men:
Jean Carlos Gonzalez
Gary Saavedra
Alejandro Alfonso
Roberto Diaz

Women:
Johanny Alfonso
Enilda Alonso

Official:
Raul Stanford

Peru

Men:
Juninho Urcia
Miguel Tudela
Sebastian Alarcon
Lucca Mesinas

Women:
Miluska Tello
Anali Gomez

Official:
Gabriel Aramburu

South Africa

Men:
Michael February
Charles Brand
Casey Grant
Dylan Lightfoot

Women:
Tanika Hoffman
Faye Zoetmulder

Official:
Etienne Venter

Here is the schedule for the ISA China Cup live webcast:

Sunday, 8am China
Sunday, 11am Sydney, Australia
Sunday, 2am South Africa
Sunday 1am, Western Europe
Saturday, 4pm West Coast USA
Saturday, 6pm Costa Rica
Saturday, 7pm Panama/Peru
Saturday, 9pm Argentina
Saturday, 10pm Brazil

About The International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; and World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 100 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Layne Beachley (AUS), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).