The ISA Executive Committee is comprised of the ISA President, ISA Executive Director and four Vice Presidents. Its mission is to define ISA strategies and plans of action, “For a Better Surfing Future.” The Executive Committee works with the ISA staff throughout the year to develop future plans.

As of the 2006 ISA Biennial General Meeting, which was held in conjunction with the World Surfing Games in Huntington Beach, California, it was determined that all Executive Committee members will be elected to serve four-year terms, alternating two Vice Presidents to be re-elected every even-numbered year.

At the 2014 ISA Biennial General Meeting, Fernando Aguerre of Argentina was re-elected as President for another four-year term. He was first elected in 1994 during the World Surfing Games, held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and is currently serving his eighth consecutive term as President.

As of the 2016 ISA Biennial General Meeting in the Azores, Portugal, the four elected Vice Presidents are Karin Sierralta of Peru, Barbara Kendall of New Zealand, Casper Steinfath of Denmark and Kirsty Coventry of Zimbabwe.

ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo has been on the Executive Committee since assuming this position in 2016.

ISA Contest Director, Marcos “Bukao” Esmanhoto, also makes up part of the Executive Committee as a non-elected member.

IMG_6844Pictured from left to right: ISA Vice President Casper Steinfath (DEN), ISA Vice President Barbara Kendall (NZL), ISA President Fernando Aguerre (ARG), ISA Vice Presidente Karin Sierralta (PER), and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo (USA).