Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

World’s Best Over-35 Men and Women to Gather in Montañita to Compete for Gold and The Eduardo Arena Team Trophy

ISA World Masters Surfing Championship
April 6-14
Montañita, Ecuador

La Jolla, California, March 12, 2013- The International Surfing Association (ISA) is excited to announce the ISA will be returning to Ecuador for the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship from April 6 to the 14th.

2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship will be held in Montañita, Ecuador from April 6-14.

Ecuador last hosted the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in 2009 and the ISA World Surfing Games in 2004.

Over 25 Nations are expected to send delegations that will gather at the world-class surf break in the costal town of Montañita, Ecuador to compete for the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Team Trophy and individual Gold Medals.

“I am very excited to return to Ecuador and witness the world’s top over-35 surfers compete in the perfect point break waves of Montañita,” remarked ISA President Fernando Aguerre. “Thanks to the support of Ecuador’s President Correa, the Ministries of Sports and Tourism, and the Ecuador Surfing Federation (FES), this will be an incredible event. I am looking forward to enjoying the warm weather and the wonderful hospitality of the Ecuadorian people.”

The ISA is pleased to announce that 2012 ISA Grand Masters Gold Medalist and 1999 ASP World Tour Champion, Sunny Garcia will return along with 2012 ISA Women’s Masters Gold Medalist, Rochelle Ballard, as part of the defending Gold Medal Team, Hawaii.

Last year’s Grand Masters (Over-40) Champion, Sunny Garcia (HAW) will be returning to defend his Gold Medal. Photo: ISA/Rommel Gonzales

The Masters brings together the top over-35 year old surfers in the world. Past champions include three-time ASP World Champion Tom Curren (USA) and seven-time women’s ASP World Champion Layne Beachley (AUS). The most decorated ISA World Master’s Surfing Champion is Puerto Rico’s Juan Ashton with four Gold Medals.

The 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship will include the Men’s and Women’s Masters division (over 35), Men’s Grand Masters (over 40), Men’s Kahuna (over 45), and Men’s Grand Kahuna (over 50). Each division will produce individual Gold Medalists.

Eduardo Arena, who founded the ISA nearly 50 years ago, with current ISA President Fernando Aguerre looking over the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Trophy for the Gold Medal Team.

The results from all the divisions will deliver the points for the overall team ranking and winner of the Eduardo Arena Team Trophy. The trophy is named after Eduardo Arena who is the founded the ISA in 1964.

To watch the official event promo visit

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running the Open Division World Championship since 1964, the World Junior Surfing Championship since 1980, the World Masters Surfing Championship since 2007, the World Bodyboard Championship since 2011, and the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival in China and the World Standup Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship beginning in 2012. The ISA also sanctions the World Kneeboard Titles and the World Tandem Surfing Championship, and will launch the World Longboard Championship in 2013.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 73 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (AUS), Karín Sierralta (PER), Debbie Beacham (USA) and Layne Beachley (AUS).

Media Contacts
Carlos Escaba
Marketing and Media Manager
International Surfing Association

Jose Duarte Solis
Latin America Media Coordinator
International Surfing Association