Mission Statement


The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing and all other wave riding sports.

The ISA World Championship Series includes:

  • The ISA World Surfing Games
  • The ISA World Junior Surfing Championship
  • The ISA World Masters Championship
  • The ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship
  • The World Bodyboarding Championship.
  • The ISA World Longboard Championship

The ISA also owns and produces the Hainan Wanning Riyue Bay International Surfing Festival which includes:

  • The ISA China Cup
  • Hainan Classis, an ASP Men’s 6-Star.

Along with its World Championship Series, the ISA works to provide a better surfing future by providing global development programs in the areas of Judging and Officiating, Coaching and Instructing, Surf School Accreditation, Adapted Surfing and also provides an ISA Individual Scholarship Program for junior surfers.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 71 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since. The ISA’s four Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Karín Sierralta (Peru), Debbie Beacham (USA), and Layne Beachley (Australia).