Dates Set for the 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.


Pablo Zanocchi
Media Manager
International Surfing Association

Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship
May 21 to 29, 2011

The International Surfing Association and Quiksilver have set the date for the world’s most prestigious tournament for under 18 surfers. The 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship will be held from May 21 to 29 at an unconfirmed location on the Peruvian coast.

Over 200 of the younger generation’s finest surfers from more than 30 countries will gather for the ninth edition of the event.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre said, “We are thrilled to go back to Peru, this time with the world-best junior surfers. They will be impressed by the perfection and consistency of the waves there. The Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship is the most prestigious surfing tournament in the world for under 18 surfers and the only one in which the National Teams of the best surfing nations of the world compete.  The ISA is proud to hold the event for the ninth year in a row.”

Karin Sierralta, the Executive Director of the Peruvian Surfing Federation, commented, “We feel proud and honored that the ISA has chosen Peru as the Host Nation of the 2011 Quiksilver ISA World Junior Surfing Championship. This is really important for the development of the young divisions in our country. On a personal level, this is another great opportunity to improve on our last international event, to make it bigger and better.”

About the International Surfing Association
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running Open Division World Championships since 1964, Junior World Championships since 1980, and Masters World Championships since 2007. The ISA will hold the first Stand Up Paddle (SUP) World Championship and the first World Bodyboard Championship in 2011.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 64 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice-Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).