Billabong ISA World Surifng Games Hit the Media

Posted - News Posted for ISA News.

A more than happy Peruvian Team after winning the gold. Photo: ISA/Latorre

Billabong ISA World Surfing Games presented by Amarok of Volkswagen
November 1st, 2010
Punta Hermosa, Peru

After eight historic days of competition, the Billabong ISA World Surfing Games presented by Amarok of Volkswagen came to an intense end, crowning Peru as the new World Champion Nation.

It was one of the tightest battles for the team gold in the 45 year history of the World Surfing Games. Australia and Peru fought for the top spot until the last second of the event. In the end, Peru was first leaving Team Australia as the runner-up.

Final standings

Gold: Peru – 14370 points
Silver: Australia – 14160 points
Bronze: South Africa – 11820 points
Copper: Brazil – 11340 points

The 2010 World Surfing Games made history and it also made it to the main surfing media outlets.  Check it out:







About the International Surfing Association (ISA)
The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. It was originally founded as the International Surfing Federation in 1964 and has been running world championships since 1964 and the Junior World Championships since 1980.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies (NGBs) of over 60 countries on six continents. Its headquarters are located in San Diego, California. It is presided by Fernando Aguerre, first elected in 1994 in Rio, and re-elected seven times since.  The ISA’s three Vice Presidents are Alan Atkins (Australia), Mike Gerard (USA) and Karín Sierralta (Peru).